Projects

Projects provide a way of collecting together all your work on a particular topic or course, and automatically granting access to your collaborators.

In the Numbas editor, every exam or question must belong to a single project. Your account always has one project attached to it - your workspace. When you create a new exam or question, you’ll be asked which project you want to attach it to, and the default option is your workspace.

If you’re putting together content for a course you’re teaching, it’s a good idea to create a new project as a single gathering point for your material. A project is effectively a “fenced off” area of the editor where you can concentrate on just the material you want to work on, without having to wade through unrelated items.

Creating a new project

../_images/create_project.png

Click on the New button at the top of the page, and then on Project. You need to give some information about your new project:

  • A name for the project. This should succinctly describe what the project is for, or what it contains.
  • A longer description of the project. You could include a link to your course homepage, or some information about the aims of the project.
  • A default language for content created in this project. Any new exams created in this project will use this language by default.
  • A default licence for content created in this project. Any new exams created in this project will have this licence attached by default.

The project home page

A project’s home page shows a timeline of activity on the project, the list of members, and links to create new content or browse the project’s existing content.

../_images/project_homepage.png

The timeline shows all activity on exams or questions belonging to the question, as well as comments attached to the project itself. Timeline items belonging to each project you’re a member of will also be shown in your personal timeline on the editor homepage.

The cog icon at the top of the page takes you to the project’s options page. On this page you can change any of the project’s settings or, if you’re the project’s owner and it isn’t your personal workspace, delete it.

Finding content inside a project

From the project homepage, click on either of the Browse links to see the questions or exams belonging to the project. You can narrow down your search by adding a query in the search bar at the top of the page, or selecting one of the filters.

../_images/search.png

Adding someone to a project

From the project’s homepage, click on the settings icon at the top of the list of members to go to the member settings page. In the Add a member box, type the name of the person you want to invite. If they don’t have an account yet, their email address; they’ll get an email asking them to create an account and when they do, they’ll be given access to your project immediately.

../_images/add_member.png

You can control what project members are allowed to do: if you select Can view then the user will be able to look at, comment on, and download all content in the project, but not change anything. If you select Can edit, then they will also be able to create new content or change existing content. You can also give project members access to individual exams or questions using the access controls on their respective edit pages.

Changing or removing a project member’s access

From the project’s homepage, click on the settings icon at the top of the list of members to go to the member settings page.

../_images/manage_members.png

Change a project member’s access rights by selecting an option from the dropdown next to their name.

To remove a user from the project, tick the checkbox corresponding to their name, then click the Save changes button.

Transferring ownership of a project to someone else

The owner of a project has certain privileges which no other user does, such as deleting the project.

To transfer ownership of a project to somebody else, go to the Members settings page and click on the Transfer ownership button, then enter the name of the person you’d like to transfer ownership to. That user will become the owner of the project, and you will be given editing access to the project.

Deleting a project

To delete a project, you must be its owner. You can’t delete your personal workspace.

Warning

Only delete a project if you’re absolutely sure you don’t need it any more. Deleting a project is an irreversible action that will result in the loss of data belonging to the project.

To delete a project, go to the project’s Options page and click on the Delete this project button.

Questions and exams belonging to the project will be reassigned to their authors’ personal workspaces, but any comments on the project’s activity timeline will be deleted.